Cosplayer, Prop maker, hobbist, Occasional Author

hobby projects end of September

Okay so this month has been kind of a mess for me partly due to mental health and partly due to trying to get stuff together for an event that at the last minute I found out I couldn’t attend and also heard bad things about from people who went. but this month has seen my get some stuff done and here are projects I am. sorry about the brightness in some of these images, i have attempted to tone down the brightness with an image editor but these were taken at night with flash mode on my phone so they aren’t great

On a miniatures front I mainly have had two pathlines with working on models = purely for me vs partly for youtube content.

okay so starting with the model i am purely doing for me:
IMPERIAL GUARD MASTER OF ORDINANCE with plotting tabl

the above pic is the model just primed and based black

base coat of the holo projection painted on, the badly lit work space makes this look like the plastic is green but actually that is just dark angels green gw paint. since this pic I have started adding in the lighter coloured grid pattern though I might go over that with a micron pen to further knock in the grid pattern. i have also painted on the base colours of my hektarian regiment’s uniform including painting his helmet over his butt gold. i will need to go back and further work on the skin and fine details but other than that here is how it is coming along. the money i would have spent on con tickets for an event that i sadly wasn’t able to attend instead went into this model which the base model of a nexos took weeks to arrive at my preferred Friendly local game store (flgs)

Exif_JPEG_420



models for youtube content:
Ursula Chenkova, Svargan Colonel
okay so the first one shouldn’t be too big of a surprise since I have talked about it but for those who don’t know i am in the process of working on Ursula Chenkova, Svargan Colonel by victoria miniatures that I got free at random when i ordered a squads 2 pack off their ebay (i probably should have messaged them to say a model i actually wanted included but ah well mistakes happen) and on the subject of mistakes while cleaning it I lost one of the arm halves and so instead of just building and painting the model it has become a conversion building project. instead of being a mini review this instead is going to be a mini rescue video though my laptop isn’t all that powerful so I am not sure if the footage i have recorded of the build will be all that useful to me over just saying what i am doing


model 2: toxic wastes guardsman

so for a long time I have talked about how the old 2012 chaos cultists kit was really good for converting flavorful imperial models and if I haven’t been all that open about it well there i have said it. anyway I initially built this model up to use as a visual aid for a video on the september 2012 issue of white dwarf which was an issue about the launch of dark vengeance. Sadly between lighting issues and my laptop not being powerful I have had to abandon the original recordings and 20 minute version of that white dwarf retrospective and instead do a shorter under 9 minute version which is more concise. Though the benefit of this is that now that previously unpainted visual aid is now painted and i have retrieved a few others out of storage as I have done many things with cultists over the years including street militia, uniformed guardsmen, ministorum crusaders and even tech priests

Cosplay projects:
Erza Scarlet heart kreuz
okay so my main hobby project this month has been my erza scarlet cosplay which I initially started back in 2019 and got to a wearable if very incomplete state. well with a con coming up I pulled the parts of the armour out of storage and was attempting to rebuild the torso armour so that it actually fits me, sadly I wasn’t done in time for the event and at this rate might come with me to pax aus if i go although i already have three costumes planned for that event though with the exception of my sister of battle cosplay it is the closest to being worn. sadly as I write this the costume is too incomplete to show off and with my models taking up the same table as my sewing machine progress on the costume is on hold though that is also because I needed to buy some more zippers for the costume so as to make getting in and out of the costume easy but also to better work out the shape and fit of it as i go so i am not hacking into detail work to make the armour comfortable.

with pax aus coming up though I should have more cosplay projects in the works and with the genshin impact second anniversary coming up like next week I also have some stuff in the works for it too (as usually I am doing that for free as I am too small of a presence online for anyone to pay me to make stuff for them, who knows if that will change.

in closing here are my amended plans for youtube:
september:
– tf legacy cybertron override review
– custom AM master of ordinance showcase
– white dwarf 393 retrospective
– rescuing an incomplete ice warriors guard commander
– skyrim imperial legion sword and shield build

october:
– updating an old hydra/wyvern conversion build
– genshin impact inspired model build
– genshin impact inspired cosplay prop build
– erza scarlet cosplay build video
– I started building a wh40k battlefield while homeless here is how far I got/ budget industrial terrain tiles for 40k/sw legion/
– sister of battle cosplay (2019 – 22 ver) build log 1: the main armour
– pax aus cosplay coverage
– cannoness varydian review
– mcfarlane toys sister of battle order of the bloody rose version review

november:
– sister of battle cosplay (2019 -22 ver) build log 2: adding light

Leave a comment